Georgia charged me, now New Jersey, HELP!

Question: Can two different states look at charges two different ways? Basically I was charge with aggravated assault I plead out simple assault. When my background is pulled the aggravated assault charge shows. Employers think I have a felony. Could Georgia be looking at it wrong or could there be a mix up where they never reduced my charge?

background check

Answer: Yes, every State classifies different crimes according to that States statutes, etc. It looks as though if you plead to a lesser charge, then what is showing up is that you were arrested for aggravated assault (even though you weren’t convicted). I would explain the circumstances to the employers, and you may want to make sure your background is updated for accuracy.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

