What are the possible penalties for a theft by shoplifting charge?

Pursuant to Georgia shoplifting laws, a person convicted of the offense of theft by shoplifting when the property is valued at $300 or less shall be punished for a misdemeanor. In Georgia the punishment for misdemeanor may result in a fine not to exceed $1000 or confinement in jail for a total term not to exceed 12 months or both. It is in the court’s discretion whether a defendant may be offered probation and/or community service as substitutes or modifications to the misdemeanor penalty.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s