Law Q & A, I was charged with selling weed, can I avoid jail?

 

newz039-bunch-of-weed-hoarders

Question: Can I avoid jail time with 6 felony charges?
Question Detail: I have been charged with 3 counts of sale of marijuana and 3 counts of unlawful use of a cell phone. And they had a warrant for my arrest yet when they obtained me they found nothing on me in my house. And I have yet to use my GA first offenders act. I believe the way they arrested me was through informants. This had happened in Statesboro by the way if that affects the case.

Under GA law drug 1st offender act, whenever any person who has not previously been convicted of any drug offense pleads guilty to or is found guilty of possession of drugs, the court may without entering a judgment of guilt and with the consent of such person defer further proceedings and place them on probation upon such reasonable terms and conditions as the court may require. In your case, you can ask your attorney if it is possible for you to plead under the drug 1st offender act.

Leave a Reply

